Is SF loan classed as income?

Options
Im a first year student. Single. I have 17k of debt.
I work full time bank at the hospital. I can work 0hrs or 60hrs a week.

This year i had to pay student fees so used my maintenance loan to pay the fees and worked full time.

Im concidering an IVA. However i cant find out if my student loan would be taken into concideration as income.

The way i see it is that I have 3 options.

i can take the 9k loan out and work full time then use the 9k to offer a full and final settlement in a years time when all the payments have come through (The best option for me)

If they take it as income i would 100% not work full time as i cant see the point in breaking my back. Id just work the hours to pay the bills and IVA then sit back and relax a bit.

Or I can not take out another 9k loan and still work full time. Im already in about 40k having previously done another degree. I do have equity in my home so id like to get rid of the IVA asap.

Comments

• foxy-stoat
    foxy-stoat Posts: 6,879 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    An IVA is probably not the best option for you from what you have said.
  • tiggy748_2
    tiggy748_2 Posts: 90 Forumite
    Options
    Tbh i havnt said very much. Thats a huge sweeping statement to make.
    But yes an IVA is my best option.
  • sourcrates
    sourcrates Posts: 28,888 Ambassador
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    edited 24 April 2019 at 5:15PM
    Options
    tiggy748 wrote: »
    Im a first year student. Single. I have 17k of debt.

Im already in about 40k having previously done another degree.

So which is it 17k or 40k ?