life change

Options
Hi, this is my first time posting here but always lurking, i wonder if you can give me some clear advise.
My sister has won a large sum of money and gifing me 5k to be debt free at long last, its life changing for me and for her to be honest. I currnetly work 30 hours a week and recieve wtc and ctc and hb, not a a mssive amount but it keeps me and my son in a house and pays the bills...... i have one child whos 15 and my daughter is 18 but works, she also lives at home.
. Anyway my question is what do i do as i know i have to declare it but as its under the 6k will it affect my benefits, i will only have it for one day and then will be paying off my overdreaft and cc etc. should i ask her to pay off my debts so it wont go into my account at all, please no judgement but welcome all the answers.

Comments

• poppy12345
    poppy12345 Posts: 17,950 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    seaveiw wrote: »
    Hi, this is my first time posting here but always lurking, i wonder if you can give me some clear advise.
    My sister has won a large sum of money and gifing me 5k to be debt free at long last, its life changing for me and for her to be honest. I currnetly work 30 hours a week and recieve wtc and ctc and hb, not a a mssive amount but it keeps me and my son in a house and pays the bills...... i have one child whos 15 and my daughter is 18 but works, she also lives at home.
    . Anyway my question is what do i do as i know i have to declare it but as its under the 6k will it affect my benefits, i will only have it for one day and then will be paying off my overdreaft and cc etc. should i ask her to pay off my debts so it wont go into my account at all, please no judgement but welcome all the answers.
    As it's under £6,000 then there's no need to report this. Any savings/capital over £6,000 affects your means tested benefits.