Mortgage Prisoner

Options
This is my first time post so please be gentle.

Split up with my partner of 10 years in 2016. Shortly after the split he badly assaulted me and now there is absolutely no contact due to ongoing non molestation orders etc.

He still co-owns my house and we have a joint mortgage which I am fully paying for. He purchased his own property last year in his name which is round the corner from my house.

Through solicitors he has been offered the amount g he wants to come off the mortgage. I can afford to take this mortgage on alone. But since January he has done nothing in regards to this. Meanwhile my fixed rate mortgage ended last December and my mortgage payments have increased considerably. I can’t move house or take on a new fixed rate without his permission and I am unable to move somewhere safer.

I would like to avoid going to financial court to settle due to the extortionate legal fees. Also it seems ludicrous when he has been offered what he originally asked for.

Is there another route I can go down to stop me feeling like I am trapped?

Any advice would be appreciated.

X

Comments

• kingstreet
    kingstreet Posts: 38,767 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options
    No. Unfortunately, you have accurately summed up the position and the lack of options.
    I am a mortgage broker. You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Adviser, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice. Please do not send PMs asking for one-to-one-advice, or representation.
  • sal_III
    sal_III Posts: 1,953 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    There is nothing you can do if he is not cooperating, without going down the legal road. Check if you are eligible for legal aid.