Multiple Ebay listings for same ink cartridge from same seller

Options
I have been buying most of my ink cartridges on ebay for over 10 years. I have noticed in the last year I get dozens of listings from the same seller for the same cartridge. It is annoying as you have to scroll down several pages to get a listing from a different seller.

Most sellers of ink cartridges seem to do it now. Why do they do it?

Comments

• forgotmyname
    forgotmyname Posts: 32,569 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    More listings = hopefully more sales.

Personally i just go elsewhere with any category like that.

If your bored you can report it.
    Censorship Reigns Supreme in Troll City...

• ballisticbrian
    ballisticbrian Posts: 3,937 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    Try searching using Best Match, not by price low to high. Also try the filters at the side where you can isolate the colour and type.

Why do they do it? Because they see everyone else doing it and lack any real innovation or ability to see beyond the search results.
    Warning: any unnecessary disclaimers appearing under my posts do not bear any connection with reality, either intended, accidental or otherwise. Your statutory rights are not affected.
  • Mistral001
    Mistral001 Posts: 5,349 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post I've been Money Tipped!
    Options
    Since starting the thread, I have been doing a bit of research. I always search by cartridge number. Most sellers list by cartridge number and printer model they are compatible with. For example an HP 301XL will be compatible with dozens of HP printer models, hence you get dozens of listings for the same cartridge from the same seller.

If you search by printer model number you get fewer listings. Still several combinations of number of and colour/black/size combinations to grapple with from same seller though
  • RFW
    RFW Posts: 10,025 Forumite