Company business millage reimbursement policy

Options
Hi,
I am very new to UK to work.
I sometimes need to do business trip by my own car.
Company provide GBP 400 car allowance per month for me but also allow me to claim millage.
Currently, they provide 15p per mile plus car allowance.

I check on website and always said 45P per mile.
Is it legal to provide 15P , not 45P???

Thank you so much for you guys help,

Anne

Comments

• Alice_Holt
    Alice_Holt Posts: 5,960 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    Anne,

You have posted on the Benefits forum.
    You may get more info by posting on the Tax or Employment forum.

But, yes it is legal.
    45p per mile is the maximum mileage rate allowed (for Tax purposes) by HMRC before needing to report the payment to HMRC. It is not a legal minimum.
    https://www.gov.uk/expenses-and-benefits-business-travel-mileage/rules-for-tax
    Alice Holt Forest situated some 4 miles south of Farnham forms the most northerly gateway to the South Downs National Park.
  • Tom99
    Tom99 Posts: 5,371 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    Anne2019 wrote: »
    Hi,
    Company provide GBP 400 car allowance per month for me but also allow me to claim millage.

Anne
    45ppm is meant to be the all in cost but you already get £400pm car allowance so the 15ppm is just for petrol etc.
    You will be paying tax on the £400pm and I think you may be able to claim tax relief on the 45p less 15p for your business mileage.
  • zagfles
    zagfles Posts: 20,331 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Chutzpah Haggler
    Options
    It's normal - if you get a car allowance the company usually only pay you petrol rates. But you can claim tax relief on the difference between the HMRC rate and the rate the company pays (assuming the allowance is fully taxed, ie just added to your taxable income).

See https://www.gov.uk/tax-relief-for-employees/vehicles-you-use-for-work