Do You Need Financial Advice? When To Get It, When Not To Get It Discussion Area

articlealert.gif

This thread is specifically to discuss the content of the

Do You Need Financial Advice? When To Get It, When Not To Get It Article

To discuss or ask a question about the article: click reply

Comments

• Just a quick note on the fees vs commissions debate - it is possible to get the best of both worlds.

The benefit of paying a commission rather than a fee is largely that fees are subject to VAT (costing you an extra 17.5%) where as commissions are not.

Simple solution - agree a fee with your IFA, and then pay it to him as a commission. So if you agree a fee of £500 +VAT on an investment of £50,000, get him to take a commission of 1% (£500) saving yourself £87.50.

I'll read through the rest of the article and see if there are any other bits to note.
    I'm an Investment Manager. Any comments I make on this board should be not be construed as advice, and are for general information purposes only.
  • lisyloo
    lisyloo Posts: 29,611 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Surely it depends on what length of time the commission is over (on pensions for example it could be paid for 40 years).

We took out an ISA a long time ago.
    We paid £100 plus £17.50 VAT (1999 so will be more now) but we get serveral hundreds back each year in rebated commission.
    As it's been 7 years now we are quid in.

I would suggest that the probably length of the contract needs to be considered in the equation as well as other factors.
  • dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 116,358 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    On annuities, it has been noted in the pensions section on a few occassions and I have tested it as well, that IFAs can beat the companies you mention.

On investments, you have only mentioned the differences on areas to invest but you also have the tax wrappers to consider.