can you be entitled to working tax credit for part of the year?

Options
Hello!

we've been informed we owe a significant sum due to tax credit overpayment. we were part of a joint claim and my partner did not update the info when I began employment again (I work as a contractor, sometimes go many months between contracts).

On the decision TC have said we were not entitled to working tax credit for the entire year, due to total joint income and thus the wtc payments are included in the overpayment.

As I was only employed for half of the year, was my partner not then entitled to wtc for my period of unemployment?
She meets all the criteria for it (hrs worked, amount earned etc). I understand she is not entitled to it because of total income, but we did not have that income when she was receiving it as I was not working for part of the year... :undecided

Also, their ''anualised'' income figure for us is wrong by over £1,000, when I explained it to them with evidence they said it was ''based on information supplied by employers which we then anualise'' to get a figure for the year.

But if it's incorrect, surely it's incorrect?

Finally, how are these people on repayments?
Can we pay back in small amounts monthly?

THanks for any replies.

Comments

• marliepanda
    marliepanda Posts: 7,186 Forumite
    Options
    No, its annual income.

If I was unemployed all year and then worked for one week and got £40k for that week, Id need to pay back all my WTC.
  • [Deleted User]
    Options
    Plus don!!!8217;t they base each year on the previous years income?
  • Darksparkle
    Darksparkle Posts: 5,465 Forumite
    Options
    MarkN88 wrote: »
    Plus don!!!8217;t they base each year on the previous years income?

It's based on the previous years income unless the current year income increases or decreases by £2500.

OP can you explain a bit more about what you mean by annualised income? What tax year are you referring to and is it wrong for you or your partner?