SB - setting up freelance web design company (VAT and other questions)

Hey.

I've been web designing for a few years now and have done some commercial work - I am hoping to establish my own small business - a freelance web design company and was looking for some advice.

I've already got a web design portfolio - which I'm also redesigning at the moment - this will be my main method for obtaining work - people can contact me after looking at my past work for a website. I've got a fair idea of where things are going with this.

However I have some questions:

* Would is be wise to become VAT registered - this would enable me to get computer equipment/software cheaper when I need to upgrade etc and allow me to get a trade account with aria - however wouldn't this mean I'd also have to charge VAT for my services and how would this work? I have very little knowledge about all this.

* I am considering a part time course (perhaps CIW or preferably something teaching flash/php) in order to get formal qualifications - although I am experienced and knowledgeable there are a few things I'd like to expand on and get more practice at - however as far as I can tell these are costly and I don't know if I can fit it in between my current studies.

Which leads onto:

* Are there any grants available for young people like me setting up similar businesses - I'm currently a history student at manchester university and this will business will be in addition to these studies - although the business will not be that expensive to set up I could do with some extra cash to fund promotion (printed flyers/business cards or similar). Also if I did a course in addition to my degree a grant would be helpful in funding such course.

* Should I get a seperate business bank account for my business - I could just use my personal account but would it be wise to have a business account - are there any benefits to this.