Insurance companies for self-employed domestic cleaners?

Options
I'm looking into setting up as a domestic cleaner and was wondering if anyone had any recommendations for insurance companies, please? I'm a sole trader, and I'll definitely need public liability insurance and possibly professional indemnity. Any pointers in the right direction would be great, thanks.

Comments

• paddyandstumpy
    Options
    Google insurance for Cleaning Contractors, there are a few decent schemes out there.

Also, try contacting the Contract Flooring Association, they may recommend some insurers?
  • kaggi
    kaggi Posts: 254 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    I am looking for some info on this as well, any pointers you can give me ElleWoods? I have arranged public liability but I am not really sure what indemnity is and whether it is needed.
    Thanks
  • Zorillo
    Zorillo Posts: 774 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    I can't imagine why a cleaner would need professional indemnity insurance and I'd be very wary of anybody suggesting that you do.

Public liability insurance is all you need unless you have employees in which case you need Employer's liability as well.

Any insurance broker would be able to arrange you a policy within a few minutes.
  • Quentin
    Quentin Posts: 40,405 Forumite
    Options
    Zorillo wrote: »
    I can't imagine why a cleaner would need professional indemnity insurance and I'd be very wary of anybody suggesting that you do......
    Cleaners often have privileged access to their clients premises and may act unprofessionally by (eg.) repeating something confidential they have heard or seen which ends up to the financial detriment of the Client - who in turn would seek compensation from the cleaning company employing the responsible cleaner
  • Zorillo
    Zorillo Posts: 774 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options