Do I need life insurance?

Options
Hello wise people. When I bought my house I was told I needed life insurance to get my mortgage so I've been paying £40 a month for a few years. I have just seen something saying that as I am single and have no dependents I don't need to have it. Is this the case? I will be leaving my estate to my sister and nieces when the inevitable happens but they don't depend on me. I look forward to your advice!

Comments

• csgohan4
    csgohan4 Posts: 10,587 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Photogenic
    Options
    If you don't have dependents then usually not needed, but the younger you are the cheaper it is.

Consider if you are likely to have dependent in the future, least you have got it when it was cheaper
    "It is prudent when shopping for something important, not to limit yourself to Pound land/Estate Agents"

G_M/ Bowlhead99 RIP
  • glider3560
    glider3560 Posts: 4,115 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    csgohan4 wrote: »
    If you don't have dependents then usually not needed, but the younger you are the cheaper it is.

Consider if you are likely to have dependent in the future, least you have got it when it was cheaper

I have taken this exact view, no children but chose to take out insurance anyway.

It is about £6 per month, providing £200,000 cover over a 30 year period (longer than my mortgage). Not increasing, so the £6 and £200,000 become less valuable over time.

Felt this would be cheaper than paying a much higher premium in later life if I develop any health conditions.

Also, I'm thinking of it as a cheap way of making a charity donation (through my will) if none of my family are around when I pass.

OP, you may wish to shop around. No-one "needs" life insurance to get a mortgage. In any case, use the guide on this site to find a cheaper deal.
  • Kynthia
    Kynthia Posts: 5,668 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options