Premium hike - is this even legal?

Options
Hi guys,

Need some advice on a life policy that I have been paying for about 30 years or more. Anyway I had taken out as indexed linked and there are unit trust etc It was originally a Canon Lincoln Policy which got switched to Sun Life a few years ago. Anyway, every year the premium would go up by maybe £5.00 and the cover would go up accordingly. last I was paying £88.44 for cover for myself and my ex-wife. Cover was around £77,154 for that amount. Sun Life are now telling me to keep that cover I need to pay a premium of £214.80 or if I choose I can have cover of £42,434 for the same amount I am currently paying effectively halving my cover over night. Is this even legal. They say if I don't make a decision they will take the premiums out of my cover rendering my policy invalid in three years. I feel like i have just been ripped off by a bunch of cowboys.

Comments

• Weighty1
    Weighty1 Posts: 1,181 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    This sounds like a unit linked whole of life policy which has been set up on a "balanced cover" basis. The premiums in this type of plan are almost always reviewable and typically reviewed initially at 10-year intervals and then more frequently as you age.

Part of the premium is invested and part of the premium provides the life insurance. This way the policy builds up an investment value, however, as you age the cost of the life cover increases so eventually they have to either reduce the amount of cover or increase the cost OR as has been suggested, use the investment value to supplement the premiums to keep the cover the same (but this cannot be sustained long term).

This type of whole of life plan was relatively common years ago but is totally obsolete nowadays.