Extortionate Electricity Bills, Help!

Options
This is my first time ever posting on a forum so thank you in advance for anyone who can offer advice.

Myself and my partner moved into rented accommodation at the end of February when we accepted an offer on our house. The property we moved into is a new build 2 bed flat which is electric only, no gas.

We had previously paid around £60 a month combined gas and electricity, so when I called Scottish Power to set up a direct debit for the new flat and she said £46 was our estimated monthly usage, it sounded about right (compared to our usage in a larger, older property).

This week I submitted our first meter reading since moving in and today have received an email to say my monthly DD has been adjusted to £248!!!!! And we also have an outstanding balance of £1300. I know that the meter reading we supplied when we moved in was accurate, and I have been down to check this week's reading again but again, it is definitely correct.

I cannot figure out how we have used this much. We did also have the immersion heater on for the first month without realising as we had not figured out the control system, but since April, we have not had the heating on once and only have the immersion heater on a timer for 2 hours in the morning and 2 hours at night. Could this possibly have racked up a bill of £1300, on top of our monthly £46 payments?

I have tried to adjust the DD down to a more reasonable amount but they will not let me do so, so I am at risk of not being able to pay other bills/ rent etc. this month. I am terrified that we cannot prove this bill is incorrect, in which case we will have to give up our tenancy as we simply cannot afford these payments.