Can’t afford to live

Options
I don’t know who to talk to or where to go so if anyone could help that would be great.

I can’t afford to live with the debts, rent, child support and cost of living on my salary.

I have recently left the army after 7.5 years service and have faced with having to live with my parents as I broke up from my children’s mother 3 years ago. I used to take the boys and stay with my parents every weekend I wasn’t working but now I’ve left he army I’m living there full time looking for a cheap place to rent.

My ex got me into a lot of debt and recently written off my finance car drink driving (second time offence and lucky to not face jail time) and I’m picking up the financial pieces of her selfishness. I have my boys every weekend and I used to pay £300 a month maintenance (not through CSA it was an agreement between us) when I was on £30k a year but now I work as an apprentice telecoms engineer on £20k a year.

As my salary has reduced greatly so has my payments to maintenance and now she’s going through CSA. After paying maintenance, debts, and estimated rent and council tax (for when I move out) I’ll literally have no money for food, car insurance, fuel etc.

It’s even got to the point where my ex is unhappy with the reduction of maintenance she’s said she’ll stop me seeing my boys as much so she gets more money from me!

After a year of being on £20k my salary will increase by £5k which will be more feasible but in the meantime I don’t know what I can do as I’m not entitled to a penny whilst my children’s mother doesn’t work at all and reaps all the benefits. It’s depressing and demoralising living with my parents at my age and I need advice on who to talk to.

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    Options
    My initial thoughts would be that the Royal British Legion may be able to offer help and advice.
    I would point out to her that if she stops you seeing your children you will go to court for access.