Vanguard Lifestrategy - should I cash in my "gain"?

Options
I'm relatively new to investing but I've done a lot of background reading and I have a question.
I have had enough money in Vanguard Lifestrategy since October to have seen it go up in value by about £4,000.
It's been suggested to me that I should withdraw £4,000 in cash in case the market drops so that at least I'll not have lost that gain.
I'm aware that the advice generally is to keep your cash in for years on end, not keep looking at the value of it, benefit from compound interest, etc but I can see the logic of this suggestion and I wonder what people think?

Comments

• A_T
    A_T Posts: 959 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    How do you think you'd feel if in a few months' time markets fall and it drops £4K in value?
  • Murmansk
    Murmansk Posts: 929 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper First Anniversary
    Options
    >>How do you think you'd feel if in a few months' time markets fall and it drops £4K in value?<<

I'd think it would have been good if I'd taken out the £4K BUT as I am committed to long term investing I'd think that in due course (possibly a number of years) my investment would grow and the growth would be bigger than if I'd taken out that £4K
  • Prism
    Prism Posts: 3,803 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    In a number of years, should you keep it invested it could be going up or down by 4K (or more) on a daily basis - a nice problem to have :)
  • smoulder
    smoulder Posts: 30 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    Markets are going to drop at some point but no one knows when. A rule of thumb is that you should be "comfortable" with seeing a drop in value equal to half of the equity portion of your portfolio.