Housing Benefit review & self employed low earnings

I am wondering if anyone can help.

I am a self employed writer with a disabling health condition and work 16 hours per week. I get full working tax credits (including the disability and severe disability element) and enhanced daily living for PIP. I also get full housing benefit and council tax reduction. I am on very low earnings.

I received a letter from my local council a few weeks ago asking me to fill in a self-employed earnings form (I have no prepared accounts because I cannot afford an accountant) for the last tax year. I did so and sent it off with a financial summary of profit/loss, business invoices and receipts, updates on what I get from PIP and WTC, as well as full bank statements for that tax year. I thought nothing of it because I did the same when I first went self-employed 5 years ago and applied for WTC after being on ESA for 3 years. It was reviewed after the first 6 months with an update on earnings and then again a couple of years later. It was also reviewed again last year for the previous tax year. I have had consistently low earnings but had no issues with the council about my benefits because as it is means tested, I am entitled.

I also underwent the HMRC new tax credits eligibility test on viable self-employment a couple of years ago and my working tax credits claim continued as they were satisfied I was gainfully self-employed with a view to making a profit.

However, today I received a further letter from the council asking me if I really did work 16 hours a week in the last tax year and to explain why my income was so low if I did. I am also asked to explain what I intend to do to increase my earnings in future.