Long notice period

Options
lcfcfan26
lcfcfan26 Posts: 3 Newbie
Hi everyone,

I am a graduate analyst at a massive multinational company and I have been here for nearly two years. Unfortunately, I am completely miserable in my current job, and I am looking to leave.

I am on a THREE month notice, whilst my colleagues of my level (at the same company), and other jobseekers at my level in general, are all on one month's notice. This is causing me a huge problem in that many companies and recruiters I am interviewing with are put off by my current notice period.

Should I tell recruiters and interviewers that I am on a three months' notice, but I am prepared to leave early after having done an appropriate handover (i.e. one month- it will definitely not take three months)?

Will this likely mean that my current employer may provide a tainted reference, or indeed refuse to provide one at all? They have a policy to only provide factual references. Are references even contacted anyway?

What other consequences are there for me not fulfilling my full notice period? I am so distraught at this, because it is really hindering my job hunt.

The reason that I agreed to a three month notice in my employment contract at the time was because I was so desperate for a job- and I felt that I cannot start a new job trying to plan how I am going to end it.

Thanks for your advice.

Comments

• Dox
    Dox Posts: 3,116 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    lcfcfan26 wrote: »

Should I tell recruiters and interviewers that I am on a three months' notice, but I am prepared to leave early after having done an appropriate handover (i.e. one month- it will definitely not take three months)?