Urgent help required

Options
Safe'n'Sound
Safe'n'Sound Posts: 69 Forumite
First Anniversary First Post
edited 1 June 2018 at 7:20PM in Credit file & ratings
Hi Forum, a newbie here, go easy on me please.

A bit of a tough one, but I'm hoping someone can can help me as this could be a major issue for my upcoming first house purchase.

I recently noticed my CC statement had several 'Cash Advance' lines which I would NEVER knowingly do. On closer inspection, it looks like it came from my Paypal account. What looks to have happened is, I've added a small amount of funds into my online betting account. Instead of the funds coming out of my debit card, they've came out of my credit card. An absolute nightmare as I had plenty in my current account.

I've just done a dummy run today and as I suspected, they gave me 2 options, both looking exactly the same, just with different 4 digits at the end. I'm not sure how I was supposed to know which was which, especially when my cards were 300 miles away at the time. I'm on Experian and estimate around 7-14 days before they upload these from my CC info. I'm unsure how to attach a screenshot which is a shame because it paints a thousand words. It looks something like this though:

Hi XXXXXX
Choose a way to pay

O VISA Visa/Visa Debit/Visa Electron x-1234
O VISA Visa/Visa Debit/Visa Electron x-4321

+ Link a debit or credit card
Continue

One of those is my credit card, the other is my debit card! I've contacted the CC company but say they can't do anything. I've contacted PayPal but they say the same, even though I think their app is misleading at best and an absolute liability at worst. They say the credit reference companies can contact them (PayPal) and be told of the true story (in my favour) to get it sorted. But I'm not sure how this works regarding who can do what. Any help or direction would be appreciated.

Thanks

Comments

• System
    System Posts: 178,093 Community Admin
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Post