Additional cardholder pitfalls...

Options
I have a card which allows me certain privileges including a higher limit and fee free foreign spending/ATM withdrawals. Are there any pitfalls to adding a second cardholder for a short time to help them with their travels (who is not eligible for the same product) apart from the obvious... spending and doing a runner, which I trust them not to do.

Thanks

Comments

• Willing2Learn
    Willing2Learn Posts: 6,294 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    Options
    I'm not an expert, but I **think**:

A purchase made by the additional cardholder may not necessarily get s75 protection, as the debtor-creditor-supplier relationship may be considered broken.

But I might be wrong though...
    I work within the voluntary sector, supporting vulnerable people to rebuild their lives.

I love my job

:smiley:
  • Socajam
    Socajam Posts: 1,238 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper First Anniversary
    Options
    I am going to shout at you here : DO NOT ADD ANYONE TO YOUR CARD EVER.

Yes, everyone is different, I add someone who I trusted 100% and thought was a true friend who promised to repay and not destroy my credit.
    Guess what they ran up the card to the tune of 4095 pounds and I am still waiting for payment. This is coming up to one year now.
    Yes, I was foolish to do so, but I remembered when I was in serious financial problems and someone helped me, but I never mistreated their generosity.
    Now I don't care who the person is I do not want to know and I will not put anyone on my credit card or lend them any money.
  • jonesMUFCforever
    jonesMUFCforever Posts: 28,898 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    I agree - lend them the money upfront but don't add them to your card.
    I believe that some banks will only let you add someone who lives at your address.
  • Terry_Towelling
    Options