Maturing endowment didn't match payout prediction

Options
I took out an endowment policy 25 years ago and it matured last week. In February 2007, the insurance company told me it was on target to pay back its full face value. In fact, all the illustrations they gave showed it exceeding the face value (£40,000). However, it has just matured (16 months since their letter) and is nearly £2000 under the target value. Needless to say, I have been continuing to pay premiums for those 16 months (about £800). How can things go so badly wrong in such a short time? Shouldn't the final stages of a product like this be covered by safe investments? I have written to the insurance company but any hints or suggestions on how to get them to pay the shortfall would be appreciated.

Thaks very much,

Comments

• turbobob
    turbobob Posts: 1,500 Forumite
    Options
    jagu wrote: »
    How can things go so badly wrong in such a short time? Shouldn't the final stages of a product like this be covered by safe investments?

It has happened because the markets in general have gone down recently. You don't say what type of policy it is but if it was taken out 25 years ago traditional with profits policies were most common...

With these you essentially have:
    A basic sum assured - a guaranteed amount that will be paid out at maturity regardless of bonuses. Usually set at approximately 1/3rd of the target amount.
    Annual bonuses - added each year. Once added these cannot be taken away and they form part of the guaranteed maturity value. For this reason, they tend to be set at conservative levels (set them too high and you could end up with a situation where assets in the life fund are insufficient to meet guarantees, like happened to Equitable Life)
    Terminal bonus - this is the biggest variable, and can be changed regularly and even removed entirely to reflect investment performance. It is paid at maturity.