i need help with this calculation guys mortgage - savings

Options
I have an offset mortgage of about £70000 with between £2500 to £5500 offsetting savings, ie it varies but it is not a lot considering the debt. The mortgage interest rate with my mortgage for comparison it says is 6.2%.

But I have been putting money into stocks and shares since 1992 with not much sucess in the beginning but now I would say I average 10% profit each year and current balance is £55000. For ages I have been thinking of paying off the mortgage by selling all the shares and finding the rest by cashing in a couple of other things ie I have a Tessa that converted to a TOISA so I hopefully can get enough together to pay off the morgage.

The shares are invested through ISA's so anything I make is tax free except for the dividends which I would say dont make a huge difference in the overall picture.

Because my mortgage is an offset mortgage with daily interest, I see an interest added statement each month, in fact everything is made quite clear compared to some mortgages ie there is £70000 outstanding, I decide to pay £500 off each month but approximately £300 interest is added each month effectively reducing my £500 to a £200 payment so that at the end of the year 12 x £200 means I have paid off a measly £2400 off the £70000.

But if I paid the mortgage off tomorrow there would be no 10% going on the £55000 shares balance and I would have no mortgage and no savings.

I should further explain that I have very little other income but can just about manage and because of this do not pay tax as I do not have enough income, but i think I could manage just about which ever I went for.

Can anyone work out for me whether it is better to pay off the mortgage and have no savings (shares) either or keep the shares and keep paying the mortgage off slowly please, as my brain has given up trying to work it all out?

Any help greatly appreciated.:confused:

Comments

• Jonbvn