Is now a bad time to overpay?

Options
I have been overpaying my mortgage for almost two years now, thanks to this site and all the encouragement from its super forum users. Last year alone my wife & I managed to overpay £2100.

With the uncertainty over the economy and rising inflation, I'm wondering if overpaying is such a good idea right now. Perhaps the money is better off in a savings account.

The way I see it- If things continue to deteriorate and in eighteen months from now the economy is in trouble, inflation is out of control, unemployment on the rise and the immediate future is looking bleak, what difference does it make if my mortgage is £30k or £28k?

It will not affect our quality of life or put food on the table if times are hard. What will help, if we were to find ourselves going through a prolonged 'rough patch', is the security of having a healthy level of savings to fall back on.

Maybe now is the wrong time to overpay :undecided
Father, Husband, Jogger, Painter. Mostly at the same time, except the jogging and painting bit, it didnt work out.

Comments

• Shambler
    Shambler Posts: 767 Forumite
    Options
    I would prepare for job loss either by saving or taking out an insurance policy and then get back to overpaying.
  • pollyanna24
    pollyanna24 Posts: 4,370 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    Double check your mortgage conditions.

I overpaid about £1,000 in 2006/07 and when I got my statement at the start of the year, it showed this and also said I could take this money back if I needed to.

I stopped overpaying and started putting money in a savings account as we are saving for when our baby arrives, so it makes more sense for us to have a savings account for when I am out of work rather than overpay mortgage, but if you have above condition that you can take it back if you need it, then maybe continue overpaying?
    Pink Sproglettes born 2008 and 2010
    Mortgages (End 2017) - £180,235.03