Moneysavingexpert.com/ Your Credit Rating discussion area

Options

Comments

• $17mma
    $17mma Posts: 2,619 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Hello, this is my first time on a forum and had to join in.

I have been using creditexpert for a yr now and it has helped me to keep an eye on and manage my credit file.

I have no late payments excessive credit etc, however i recentky applied for an account and was declined. I understand that all credit reference agencies hold different information.

Should I subscribe to all of them? change the one i am using? which one is best and gives the most overall view of your file?

Please help
    All it takes for evil to succeed is for a good man to do nothing!
  • $17mma
    Options
    I have recently subscribed to CreditExpert, which gives me 24 hr access to my credit file..

Here is the query:

1: I understand that both Experian and Equifax hold different information?, therefore should i subscribe to both? How can they hold different information/ thought everything had to be factual? does this mean that one agency is holding outdated incorrect information? how long do searches/footprints last for?

2: I notice on my credit file that there are quite a few associated alisa's?? it appears that this has happened when i have applied for credit and my name has been spelt wrong.

Tell me do these associated alias's effect a lenders decision and can they be moved? :confused:
  • jonnyb
    jonnyb Posts: 599 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Emma, there is another discussion somewhere on this site that lists which financial organisations use Experian, and which use Equifax. If you can find it, it might be useful.
    I work for Experian, though not directly with the consumer division, but I know enough about their data.