Mortgage v isa savings

I have a mortgage of 27500 at a rate of 6.5 %. isa savings to more than cover this am i best to pay of my mortgage.
Then using free'd monies to reinvest into new isa's so that i'm using the tax free element of my savings .I have worked out that i would be saving approx £8500 in intrest at today's rates which would be reinvested into isa's does that sound like a good investment ??

Replies

• Hi,

I am NOT an expert so you should check others opinions.:money:

Is your ISA achieving 6.5% at the moment? There are deals that do - Lloyds TSB & Barclays, Icesave, etc for example - see SAVINGS board (ISAs). So you can achieve 6.5% on your ISA.

Whether you pay of your mortgage will depend on a number of things:-
    1)Do you have any other savings?
    2) How quickly will your savings build if you are not paying your mortgage?
    3)How much does your mortgage allow you to pay off?

Once your ISA is gone, your ability to have a tax free investment of £27500 has also gone. So in the future you will be better off keeping hold of your ISA as it will produce a tax free stream of income. However, you need to get your ISA to match your mortgage rate or beat it.

I think that's right....maybe you should check on the savings board and Tax board to.
    or maybe someone will confirm or dispute this info.

All the Best

SMF2
  • Kaz2904Kaz2904 Forumite
    5.8K Posts
    Mortgage-free Glee!
    SMF is right about losing your tax free benefits.
    Presumably you have no redemption penalties if you are considering paying off your mortgage. Have you thought about an offset mortgage which includes your isa? Then you can gradually transfer ISA money out to better paying providers.
    Debt: 16/04/2007:TOTAL DEBT [strike]£92727.75[/strike] £49395.47:eek: :eek: :eek: £43332.28 repaid 100.77% of £43000 target.
    MFiT T2: Debt [STRIKE]£52856.59[/STRIKE] £6316.14 £46540.45 repaid 101.17% of £46000 target.