Freezing a pension

I've currently got a personal pension that I've been paying into for over twenty years; as well as payments I've made, it's also got money I was able to transfer from an old company scheme (which was generous - the company paid in more than I did). So, I don't have any frozen funds from other schemes - just this one Friends Provident Stewardship pension.

I had been paying £300 into it for a long time, but reduced it to £150 per month a few years ago (I actually pay £117, but apparently that's worth £150 to the scheme).

Now, I'm currently in a position where income has dried up for a while, so I'd like to suspend payments for a while. I've got two questions:

1. Given that interest rates are so low at the moment, is it sensible to stop paying this money for, say, 12 months?

2. On a longer term note, when I can afford to make payments into the scheme again, is it actually worth doing so? Would there be mileage in simply freezing the pension (the fund is currently worth £66,000), and when I'm earning a reasonable amount again to then start paying that into a basket of savings schemes (not pensions) so that I can spread my risk and get the best deals? I realise that anything above the ISA level won't be tax-free, but if I'm looking to invest between £3000 and £5000 a year, does the loss of tax-free status outweigh the various charges that the big pension companies make?

I'm opted out of SERPS currently, by the way.

Any suggestions gratefully received :)

Chris.

Comments

• dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 116,369 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker

1. Given that interest rates are so low at the moment, is it sensible to stop paying this money for, say, 12 months?

Unless you have cash fund investments, interest rates have little to do with the pension itself.
    2. On a longer term note, when I can afford to make payments into the scheme again, is it actually worth doing so?