red debt collection (help)

Options
help!!!

I have received a letter from Red Debt collection agency in my maiden name, I have been married in my new name for 25 years and live in our house for the same amount of time. i have replied that I have no knowledge
of this debt £1300 owing to Barclaycard. today I received a letter offerring to reduce the debt to half. I have no knowledge of this debt. Until this letter came I have never had any letters regarding it but have to say find it all very very worrying.
(
I would welcome any advice as to how to proceed, template letter for statue barred woud be helpful, my Husband is awaiting heart surgery at Harefield and I dont want him to worry about this.

poppy43

Comments

• stapeley
    stapeley Posts: 2,315 Forumite
    Options
    No need to worry they are just fishing . It probably someone with the same name . Do not ring them , deal only by letter, give them no details about yourself . Just write back saying you have no knowledge of a person of that name at that address. Do not sign it , just print your name . good luck
  • fermi
    fermi Posts: 40,546 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker Intrepid Forum Explorer
    Options
    Is this a previous debt of yours?

If it is and you want to write the "Statute Barred" letter, then read the factsheet below to see if it applies. If it does then there is a letter template at the end.

Factsheet | Liability for Debts and the Limitation Act

If this debt has nothing at all to do with you then send the letter in the link below.

http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showpost.html?p=8025389&postcount=2

If you send either letter it should go by RECORDED delivery.
    Free/impartial debt advice: National Debtline | StepChange Debt Charity | Find your local CAB

IVA & fee charging DMP companies: Profits from misery, motivated ONLY by greed
  • poppy43
    poppy43 Posts: 19 Forumite
    Options