'Petrol efficiency experiment; an increase of 20%' blog discussion

Options

Comments

• steve6375
    steve6375 Posts: 55 Forumite
    Options
    Has anyone mentioned 'digital driving'?

Whether you have your foot down by 1/4 or 1/2, the difference in mpg is only small (say 10mpg), but if you take your foot completely off the accelerator then the difference is at least 100mpg!

As has been mentioned before, when you take your foot off the accelerator, the engine management units effectively cuts off the fuel.

I have a new Vectra 2.2SRi - no matter how carefully I drove to work, doing no more than 50mph, with a 10 miles journey on B roads, I would get 26mpg (!!!!). I tried many things to improve this but to little affect. I am a careful driver and not at all heavy on the pedal!
    I tried the 'digital' method - accelerate mildly (about 1/4 to 1/3 on accelerator) up to my required top speed (55mph), then take my foot off the accelerator completely until I slowed down to just about 30mph (i.e. the slowest I could go and still keep in top gear), I then repeated this and accelerated up to 50mph again. Obviously you only do this on fairly flat roads and downhill.

I got an increase from 26mpg to 30mpg - better than 10% or 10p per litre - not bad!

I tried just going at 40mph all the way (where possible) and I got 26mpg again. Then went back to digital driving and got 30mpg again.

So it really works. Some side effects are:
    1. It's really annoying/uncomfortable to drive like that!
    2. Cars behind you tend to keep their distance because you keep slowing down. So only do this if it is not too busy.

This is effectively driving in neutral but it is legal and safe. So reasonably hard acceleration is OK, as long as you then 'coast' with your foot off for a good length after that. The average of doing this is less than if you just kept your foot at 1/4 all the way.
    ss
  • Idiophreak
    Idiophreak Posts: 12,024 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options