Considering bankruptcy and a mortgage

Options
Me and my DH have a joint mortgage of which we have never missed or been late with any repayments over 8 years, including any secured loans on our property.

I am considering BR as I have unsecured debts totalling £38 which will take years to clear and my reduced monthly payments are hardly making a dent to clear this amount.

My question is, if I went BR, how would this affect our mortage and my dh, would we lose home to reposession even tho all my problems are with unsecured debts?

I couldn't face BR if we were to lose our home.
Rachel

Comments

• Scarlett.1974
    Scarlett.1974 Posts: 2,765 Forumite
    Options
    Hi Rachel,

In answer to your question, it all depends on how much equity you have in the house. Is there much? Your husband could buy your share in the equity (I think this is called your beneficial interest), but I'm no expert on this. I'm sure one of the other, more knowledgeable posters will be able to advise you more :)
    You can't control everything in life....... your hair was put on your head to remind you of that :p

Proud to be BSC no. 103
  • debt_doctor
    debt_doctor Posts: 4,595 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Hi,

It would depend on how much equity you have in your property and the abbility of someone to buy your interest in it. Howmuch equity do you have ?

Best

DD
    Debt Doctor, Debt caseworker, Citizens' Advice Bureau .
    Impartial debt advice services: Citizens Advice Bureau Find your local CAB *** National Debtline - Tel: 0808 808 4000*** BSC No. 100 ***
  • Scarlett.1974
    Options
    You can't control everything in life....... your hair was put on your head to remind you of that :p

Proud to be BSC no. 103
  • rachel4331
    Options
    Approx £10k equity, tops.
    Rachel
  • Scarlett.1974
    Options
    So, your share would be £5k - would your H be able to pay this?

Proud to be BSC no. 103
  • rachel4331
    Options