How does debt usually occur?

This post isn't meant to be against anyone in debt, I'm just curious how people get into really bid debts such as those that I read about on the board. I regularly read posts on here and advise when I can, though many are far more qualified than me so I tend to read posts more than I post myself.

But I just wondered what the main reasons for people getting such a high level of debt are? Do you not go to get help when you see it start to get out of control rather than wait until it is exceedingly high, or is it fear of facing up to it, or just that the whole point is that when in debt you don't notice how much you are overspending?

As I said this may sound like its an attack, but it honestly isn't (message boards are hard to portray how something's meant I find!) I'm just interested as I'm a student and in debt myself but at a level that is manageable and I am on a strict budget to stop it getting worse, and I wondered how debts get as big as they do

Comments

• poshpix
    poshpix Posts: 8 Forumite
    I guess that the answer is that some of it is irresponsible or overly optimistic about what will happen in the future. People do get complexity (like babies and weddings and stuff) in their lives and these can then drive debt up. After all the whole financial sector is selling debt like crazy and its hardly surprising that there are many who fall prey to them. (There is no logic here - if peole are willing to pay avstly over the odds for advertised goods and "designer" items, then surely the power of advartising has to be acknowledged. Also exposure to high lifestyle and glamourous aspirations comes every day via the TV, movies and print,a dn it sets up wants and needs that the advertisers are great at tapping into.)