Options
2»

Comments

• Albermarle
    Albermarle Posts: 22,745 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    GunJack said:
    To the OP - a friend of ours was told out of the blue their partner wanted a divorce, but it was while they were both still co-habiting. When they consulted a solicitor the advice was to NOT move out of the family home until much further into the process of separating. Hard I know, but get to a solicitor before you do anything else and get proper advice on your situation, it may save you a lot of grief & money in the long run. Good luck. 
    I am not a legal expert, but I did  some research on this on behalf of a friend, whose partner was pressurising him to leave the family home due to a  deteriorating atmosphere. 
    I do remember reading that any final divorce settlement would not be affected by an intervening separation, or by one person leaving the family home. The person staying or leaving would not be at an advantage or disadvantage in any financial negotiations, which would include the home.
    This makes sense as often trial separations are actually recommended, or in other cases it could be dangerous for the couple to stay together.
    Perhaps it was different in the case of your friend as the divorce request came out of the blue, rather than something that had built up over time. 
  • GunJack
    GunJack Posts: 11,684 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Photogenic
    Options
    @Albermarle this just shows how important getting legal advice is before acting, as no two situations will be identical. You're right in that the sudden divorce request was significant in our friend's case, and they were advised to move out only after mediation had started. There were no threats, violence, etc involved, it was a relatively amicable split, also house was only in partner's name as they had it before the marriage. 
    ......Gettin' There, Wherever There is......