Sole Trader Boss has died - what do i do?

Options
Hello!

I've been working for a sole trader as admin/book keeper since May 2023 - he has unfortunately passed away this morning.

Does anyone have any advice over what I am best to do now as according to the online legal web articles, the business bank accounts will be frozen until probate and the business is effectively closed as he was the business. I was due to be in tomorrow to arrange the weekly payroll for the weekly paid staff and the monthly paid staff would be getting paid on 19th of the month.

Its all very messy and there is no family member who works for him to continue with the business etc, just an older brother. 

I suppose until there is more info tomorrow about it all then I cant second guess but I obviously need to work and so don't know whether to just try to obtain another job. I live in a difficult area for part time work so this should be fun!

thanks in advance
Emma

Comments

• Marcon
    Marcon Posts: 10,715 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    Options
    ESmith04 said:
    Hello!

I've been working for a sole trader as admin/book keeper since May 2023 - he has unfortunately passed away this morning.

Does anyone have any advice over what I am best to do now as according to the online legal web articles, the business bank accounts will be frozen until probate and the business is effectively closed as he was the business. I was due to be in tomorrow to arrange the weekly payroll for the weekly paid staff and the monthly paid staff would be getting paid on 19th of the month.

Its all very messy and there is no family member who works for him to continue with the business etc, just an older brother. 

I suppose until there is more info tomorrow about it all then I cant second guess but I obviously need to work and so don't know whether to just try to obtain another job. I live in a difficult area for part time work so this should be fun!

thanks in advance