Do I still have to pay?

Options
  • Hi, my first ever post, I have tried to search for this information in the search bar with no luck. I’m in a management plan with PRG group which was originally a debt with Santander, the debt has been sold a couple of times to different companies. 
  • The outstanding balance is approximately £4000, I’ve been paying it back for 12 years now. I had to lower the amount to £10 a month about 15 months ago and have paid it every month without fail. So my question is this, can this be written off? If so how do I go about doing that? Thanks in advance. 

Comments

• EssexHebridean
    EssexHebridean Posts: 21,372 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary Photogenic First Post
    edited 31 March at 7:56AM
    Options
     Can you elaborate on your reasons for thinking it could be written off? Was the lending irresponsible in your view, or is your income so low that making payments against it is problematic and you have no prospect of ever clearing the debt? That might help people to make suggestions around how best to approach it, and whether you are likely to have an argument for it being written off or not. 
    🎉 MORTGAGE FREE (First time!) 30/09/2016 🎉 And now we go again…New mortgage taken 01/09/23 🏡
    Balance as at 01/09/23 = £115,000.00
    Balance as at 31/12/23 = £112,000.00
    SOA CALCULATOR (for DFW newbies): SOA Calculator
    she/her
  • enthusiasticsaver
    enthusiasticsaver Posts: 15,599 Ambassador
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper I've been Money Tipped!
    Options
    You can ask them but you need to give a reason.  No likelihood of your income increasing and affecting your mental health are sometimes reasons they will write it off. Or just stop paying the £10 a month.  Presumably if you have been paying it for 12 years the default dropped off your file ages ago. Does it show up on your credit record?