IMPORTANT: Please make sure your posts do not contain any personally identifiable information (both your own and that of others). When uploading images, please take care that you have redacted all personal information including QR codes, number plates and reference numbers.

ParkingEye PCN Lee Valley Ice Rink confusing 'free period'

Options
As a newbie I'd like some pointers on what I think is a new scam development in signage from PE regarding both advertised 'free' or grace periods and the inclusion of this 'free period' in the parking time hourly/sessional rates. Has this become a common practice and I've just not noticed. 
My 'free' parking grace period of 20mins was nearly up as we negotiated with the Ice Rink to find our tickets to skate (free parking would then have been available). The online sale hadn't actually gone through from previous week and we'd ended up without tickets for a sold out session. As spectators now I rushed out and bought an hours parking through the App (phone).

I have the online guidance for customers from Lee Valley Centre re 20 mins free parking for pick up etc. This guidance is reflected in the signage on site attached.

I was in the car park for 1 hour 17 mins.
There is 20 mins grace/free.
I bought a ticket for 1 hr.
And when I appealled (not naming driver) was just told I'd not paid enough to cover the period.

I honestly was confused. In trying to unpick this I took further pictures of the signage on site.

The part in smaller writing about the 'free' period being part of the chargeable period is so perverse, confusing and contrary to the idea of 'free' that I feel it must be the basis of their rejection of my appeal.

I have been notified 'Time in Car park 1 hour 17 mins'. The paid parking session ended a few minutes after I exited the park.

Is this a new trend? Don't free periods have to work as standalone periods of time? And not force drivers to calculate back in time the exact moment they entered the carpark?