Just some general advice to get me started greatly appreciated

Hi, 

So I’m in a heap of debt, a bunch of credit card and loans. Although all my payments are up to date and i make at least minimum payments on the cards every month it feels i am at a point where i just can’t go on spending valuable income servicing debts every month. It is making other aspects of my life extremely difficult as pretty much everything that goes in flies straight out!

i could really use those funds elsewhere. I am a self-employed consultant, last year was very tough, as was the pandemic (which has really caused this problem), this year looks better but still I’m going to get nowhere near earning enough to start making a genuine dent, i should be able to commit some funds every month though, to a payment plan or similar, if such a thing exists

i appreciate there is a lot of work for me to do researching options, and there is very little detail here, so i would really just like a broad overview of where to start and what my options, very roughly, might look like? If anyone out there can face giving me a couple of pointers?

i would like to avoid bankruptcy as i have some interesting projects launching this year, and have been there before once, about 8 years ago. 

we are talking around 40k and i don’t have any assets so to speak. I live with my life partner in her owned home - thanks so much in advance

Comments

• Brie
    Brie Posts: 9,305
    Photogenic First Post Name Dropper First Anniversary
    Forumite
    First - well done for admitting there's a problem to be sorted.  That's a crucial step.  Second - does your partner know?  It's better to be open about these things rather than trying to juggle and make excuses like pretending there's a reason other than debt that you can't use your credit card for that holiday etc.