Not Accepting a Job from Another Company Whilst with Current Classed as Voluntarily Unemploy

Hello, I've been working for a contractor on a site for 13 years and for reasons I can't go into, I want to leave.  The site is managed by a different employer and the contract for cleaning the site maybe going to that different employer rather than the separate employer I'm currently with.  If the different employer offered me the job with them and I didn't accept letting my current employer terminate my employment, would that class me as voluntarily making myself unemployed in the face of benefits?

Comments

• Markytho said:
    Hello, I've been working for a contractor on a site for 13 years and for reasons I can't go into, I want to leave.  The site is managed by a different employer and the contract for cleaning the site maybe going to that different employer rather than the separate employer I'm currently with.  If the different employer offered me the job with them and I didn't accept letting my current employer terminate my employment, would that class me as voluntarily making myself unemployed in the face of benefits?
    Yes - or at the very least I would certainly hope so as that is exactly what you would be doing!
  • Grumpy_chap
    Grumpy_chap Posts: 14,458
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    Forumite
    Markytho said:
    This is likely to be under TUPE, so the move to the new operating company will be automatic.  I doubt the option of the current employer terminating employment will be available as that would cost the current employer financially.