Voluntary Contributions: Worked Abroad + Considering Retiring Early

Having gone through Martin's guide, I seem to be in a situation which isn't covered.

I studied, and worked outside the UK until I was about 30. I'm 40 now, so should have 28 more years to contribute before my pension.

I started working in the UK in April 2014, and it's showing that I can top up 2013 - 2014 for £824.20.

1. Why is 2013 - 2014 the only year I can make voluntary contributions for?
  2. Is it worth making the £824.20 voluntary contribution on the basis that I might choose to retire early?

Comments

• molerat
    molerat Posts: 31,519
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Post First Anniversary
    Forumite
    What does it show for the years prior to 2013-14 ?
    When / at what age did you leave the UK ?
    Have you any full years prior to 2013-14 ?
    What exactly does your forecast show ?
    Current weekly £££.pp amount accrued up to April 2023
    Number of pre April 2016 NI years full
    Number of post April 2016 NI years full
    Tax year you reach state retirement
    Any COPE amount shown, in a click link in "You've been in a contracted-out pension scheme" if there is one.
    Years which show not full and prices

• GianBel
    GianBel Posts: 31
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Forumite
    Thank you for your help!
    molerat said:
    What does it show for the years prior to 2013-14 ?
    Nothing. It's just not shown. It says:
    You have:
    •  9 years of full contributions
    • 28 years to contribute before 5 April 2051
    • 1 year when you did not contribute enough

molerat said:
    When / at what age did you leave the UK ?
    Before I was born.
    molerat said:
    Have you any full years prior to 2013-14 ?
    No. Nothing is shown.
    molerat said:
    What exactly does your forecast show ?
    Number of pre April 2016 NI years full
    Number of post April 2016 NI years full
    Tax year you reach state retirement