Paypal 3 is no longer allowed

Options
mairiT
mairiT Posts: 21 Forumite
First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
I have been with PayPal for well over 15 years.  I have never defaulted and have a tendency to pay in advance/early.  Out of the blue, I suddenly find myself no longer having access to Pay in 3 for no reason at all.  My credit rating is very good, I am not a criminal, I am a British resident etc etc. I meet the criteria which I have always done. The retailers I use are all offering pay in 3 for all items, from Asda to Boots. Talking to PayPal is a waste of time as the call centre will not disclose why the Pay in 3 has been removed.  I believe I have a legal right to know what is the cause of this happening

Comments

• cymruchris
    cymruchris Posts: 5,318 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Photogenic
    Options
    You don't need to be a criminal to be declined credit. They no doubt assess your current circumstances against their own criteria, and for whatever reason, they have decided at this time not to offer you the facility. There's usually quite a broad spectrum of data that they look at - and it could include your levels of existing debt, how you manage that debt, how often you've used the service. the values of products purchased over a period of time, and even possibly the number of defaults in your post code (sometimes it's nothing to do with your own behaviour and history). They won't tell you why if you call them up though, so no point trying that. It might be worth checking that the data on all three of your main credit reference history files is up to date and correct. Do you regularly check your reports?

An ex-bankrupt on a journey of recovery. Feel free to send me a DM reference credit building credit cards from the usual suspects :) Happy to help others going through what I've been through!
  • sourcrates
    sourcrates Posts: 28,993 Ambassador
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic