Buying a microwave

Options
I'm a college-trained former chef. My husband is the son of a Royal Navy chef. Since we moved in together, we have always cooked from scratch. My parents gave us a cast-off microwave and it was only used for hot chocolate and heating up cold coffee, so we got rid of it. 

Now that my husband has been diagnosed with chronic bronchitis, I am thinking about buying a microwave. I want to be able to reheat frozen casseroles, cook vegetables, have a go at making sauces e.g. Béarnaise and defrost pheasants. We won't be hearing ready meals. Don't want anything tiny nor some huge thing with a grill. Definitely don't want anything which suffers from peeling paint. Or a microwave which is mostly plastic.  

Any ideas or recommendations please ? 

Comments

• sarah1972
    sarah1972 Posts: 18,900 Senior Ambassador
    Homepage Hero Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    edited 3 October 2023 at 4:29PM
    Options
    I'm a college-trained former chef. My husband is the son of a Royal Navy chef. Since we moved in together, we have always cooked from scratch. My parents gave us a cast-off microwave and it was only used for hot chocolate and heating up cold coffee, so we got rid of it. 

Now that my husband has been diagnosed with chronic bronchitis, I am thinking about buying a microwave. I want to be able to reheat frozen casseroles, cook vegetables, have a go at making sauces e.g. Béarnaise and defrost pheasants. We won't be hearing ready meals. Don't want anything tiny nor some huge thing with a grill. Definitely don't want anything which suffers from peeling paint. Or a microwave which is mostly plastic.  

Any ideas or recommendations please ?