Best Cook's Knives

Options
Can anyone offer advice on the best cook's knives. I have heard Sabatier are good, but I am new to the cooking game and they seem a bit expensive.

Comments

• Savvy_Sue
    Savvy_Sue Posts: 46,055 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    I think it's a matter of preference: someone in this house objected to the number of veg peelers we have, but we couldn't throw any out because everyone has their favourite.

Personally I've always found Kitchen Devil knives very good and not expensive: I've had some of mine more than 20 years and it's only recently the handles have started falling apart. :( I wouldn't buy a whole set of anything expensive until I was sure I liked them.

Ah! Just found out that if you sign up to Which for a free online trial you can read their report on kitchen knives. http://trial.which.co.uk/house_and_home.php?p_id=154&roi=302945
    Signature removed for peace of mind
  • Firefly
    Firefly Posts: 3,024 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Have a look for Global knives and then you will think Sabatier are really cheap!

A good knife depends on several things, what you want to use it for, how careful you will be at looking after it (e.g. dishwasher or sharpening) and how long you want it to last.

I have had my Victorinox knives for 25yrs+ and they are still first class and have just added a couple of Global knives to my collection and expect them to outlast me!
    Do not allow the risk of failure to stop you trying!
  • bugs
    bugs Posts: 185 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    This month's Good Housekeeping has done a report on knives. I think Global, Victorinox and Mundial all did well, generally, and GH recommendations are relatively reliable unlike your average magazine that will recommend whatever came with the best freebie/whatever happened to be hanging around that day...