Buying a plot of land in Scotland

Options
Hi, I’m new to this, I was thinking of buying a plot of land north of Scotland and fitting a container home out and living off grid, Is there any legality that would prevent me from doing this?

Comments

• MalMonroe
    MalMonroe Posts: 5,783 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Photogenic
    Options
    Hi, and welcome.

First of all, you could have a look at the information in this link - https://www.mygov.scot/buying-plot

And take things from there. Contact the council (or Scottish equivalent, I'm not sure what that would be as I'm in England) for the area you'd like to buy a plot of land in. Visit the land and have a really good look round.

The council should be able to tell you all the legalities of what you're planning for the area you'd like to live in.

Good luck with it all - and please ensure that container is well insulated, from what I hear it's much colder in Scotland than it is where I live.   :)
    Please note - taken from the Forum Rules and amended for my own personal use (with thanks) : It is up to you to investigate, check, double-check and check yet again before you make any decisions or take any action based on any information you glean from any of my posts. Although I do carry out careful research before posting and never intend to mislead or supply out-of-date or incorrect information, please do not rely 100% on what you are reading. Verify everything in order to protect yourself as you are responsible for any action you consequently take.
  • cannugec5
    cannugec5 Posts: 444 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    edited 8 January 2023 at 12:35AM
    Options
    jiem said:
    Hi, I’m new to this, I was thinking of buying a plot of land north of Scotland and fitting a container home out and living off grid, Is there any legality that would prevent me from doing this?
    North of Scotland? 
    So where precisely?