Advent-ures in the MSE Forum... Our Advent calendar is live, helping you discover a new corner of the community each day. Visit the homepage and scroll down
I'm in my first year of reviewing my consolidated pensions and investments.

It looks like that over the last 3 years, the funds have underperformed against the MCSI index. I.e e.g each year underforms not the cumulative amount.

My question is, does that mean that I've got the wrong choice of funds.

This is more of a question about how useful these benchmarks are? I understand that it depends on the risk v reward but there must be a general rule.

Replies

• dunstonhdunstonh Forumite
    111.3K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    Forumite
    It looks like that over the last 3 years, the funds have underperformed against the MCSI index. I.e e.g each year underforms not the cumulative amount.
    It depends on the objectives and risks of the funds you have selected.   Some funds, by design will have just below or thereabouts discrete performance but better cumulative performance.

This is more of a question about how useful these benchmarks are? I understand that it depends on the risk v reward but there must be a general rule.
    Not all funds have the same risk level or objective as the benchmark.   So, performance may not be aligned.

I am an Independent Financial Adviser (IFA). The comments I make are just my opinion and are for discussion purposes only. They are not financial advice and you should not treat them as such. If you feel an area discussed may be relevant to you, then please seek advice from an Independent Financial Adviser local to you.
  • MarconMarcon Forumite
    6.8K Posts
    Sixth Anniversary 1,000 Posts Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    Forumite
    Fabtasia said:
    I'm in my first year of reviewing my consolidated pensions and investments.