What have been your biggest successes in your MFW Journey?

Options
Hi all

As a complete newbie to the mortgage free journey, I wondered what has had the biggest impact (or been the lightbulb moment) for you with your mortgage-free challenge?

With thanks to South_Coast, LadyWithAPlan and Karmacat for their help with my own journey, I have found the following to be really helpful

* Decide what date I want to be mortgage free and then work out much this will cost in monthly OPs
* Work backwards from this so that I treat the OP as an expenditure that needs to be paid first
* Keep a spending diary as this really does help in the early days. (Is what you're spending your money on more important than being mortgage-free?)
* Know how much interest you are charged each day. I'm charged £7.42 and this figure really does remind me that every single penny I use to pay off the mortgage will make a difference

Other than the above, the most important thing I've discovered is being aware of any financial stuff going on (like interest rates, or changes that will affect your income).

For example, my mortgage rate is 1.64% but I recently found some regular saver accounts with rates of 4.5% and 5%, so it makes sense for me to pay my OPs into these and then transfer the money to my mortgage in 12 months time. (Martin has an overpayment calculator on the MSE site where you can check your own position).

The national insurance rate changes this month so that's some "free" money that can be put towards the mortgage without any impact.

Does anyone have anything different that has really worked for them?
Mortgage Balance: £162,615.84 (December 2022); £163,945 (November 2022)
Current MF date: Feb 2032.  (Previously: Jan 2033)

Target MF date: May 2027
(Overpayments needed to achieve this: £1,750pm!) 

Joint spend: £391.09 (Nov)

Comments

• inigma
    inigma Posts: 191 Forumite
    Mortgage-free Glee! First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Options