Funds arrested for unpaid council tax - I'm a student

KiaeKiae Forumite
16 Posts
10 Posts First Anniversary Name Dropper
Forumite

Hi,

Looking for some help. 

I have been a student for the last 4 years, and lived at the same property for the full duration. I have been back and forth with the council and debt-recovery agencies about unpaid council tax for the property. I have been in full-time education for the full 4 years.

I do live with another house mate, who has not been paying council tax, and has not been a student for the full time he has lived here. He has only been a student for the past year.

Long story short, I have agreed for my own reasons, to help pay for the initial 3 years worth of council tax debt on the flat, however, we have both been students for the past year.

We had a payment plan set up to repay the council tax that was owed for the first 3 years, however they are claiming that due to us owing more council tax for the past year as well, have decided to cancel the payment plan and instead arrest funds from my bank account. 

I have spoken to the council and the debt recovery agency and they are saying that without a letter from my university there is nothing they can do. I have spoken to my university and they are going to write a letter, however they have a current back-log so it might take weeks. In the mean time, I have been informed that my funds will continue to be arrested. 

They have confirmed verbally and in writing that the funds have been arrested for the outstanding debt within the past year, and not the first three years. So they have arrested the funds for a period that we were both students. 

Is there anything I can do? I am a student, and although they don't have proof, it doesn't make it untrue. 

Any advice would be appreciated. 

Replies

• RASRAS Forumite
    31K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper
    Forumite