Cautious journey to mortgage freedom

Options
Hello, I'm a bit of a long term lurker here but finally have my own mortgage to overpay and so thought I would try to document the journey!

I'm not very good with all the calculations, I mainly keep track of what I have paid in a notepad and use MSE's Overpayment Calculator to give me a rough idea of where I am.

I am currently tackling two mortgages:

1. My house - £92,000 over 35 years (Jan 2057). Currently fixed at 1.19% until November 2026. I set up a standing order from day 1 to round up my monthly payment to the nearest £100, so far I am set to knock off 4 years and 6 months from the term but I'd love to aim for a 10 year reduction.

The house has been recently renovated in some parts, others are still extremely good condition (bar a massive septic tank issue we have discovered!), my To Do list is growing each day with thing's we would like to do but this is mostly cosmetic with one small extension I'd like to do.

2. Mum's house - £75,225 Interest Only with 13 years left on the term (July 2035). Currently fixed at 2.79% until April 2025. No overpayments were made until I took over this year so we are playing catch up very aggressively for our level of income. We are set to pay this within 12 years 11 months, however by 2026 we will be in a position to pay over the current 10% allowance so will see if a variable tariff wouldn't be more suitable.

The majority of extra payments come from unspent cash (not much these days sadly - electricity DDR has just gone up again!), survey sites and reselling anything we don't want or use, which are split between the two mortgages and house savings account.

Comments

• L9XSS
    L9XSS Posts: 438 Forumite
    First Anniversary Mortgage-free Glee! Name Dropper First Post
    Options