🗳️ ELECTION 2024: THE MSE LEADERS' DEBATE Got a burning question you want us to ask the party leaders ahead of the general election? Post them on our dedicated Forum board where you can see and upvote other users' questions, or submit your suggestions via this form. Please note that the Forum's rules on avoiding general political discussion still apply across all boards.

Aegon bond 32 buy out

Options
My wife is retiring through ill health. We are currently sorting two db pensions., one deferred, one active. She has a tiny aegon bond 32 buyout, its only worth 3.5 k it has pritected rights and can be taken tax free as i understand. . She also has a sipp. We still pay into this sipp by dd. We probably wont access the sipp.
My question is, will taking the bond 32 buyout trigger the 4k allowance regarding what can be paid in? 

Comments

• mark55man
    mark55man Posts: 7,944 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    Hi there.

I'm not an expert on section 32 - but generally taking money from defined benefit schemes does not trigger the restricted allowance.  ie the Annual Allowance is £40K but after you have triggered the MPAA (Money Purchase AA) it is £4K from the moment you trigger it.  The clue is in the title its only triggered if you take a penny of income from your money scheme scheme (ie SIPP).

If your wife is retiring and not earning then she is limited to her earned income or £3600 (gross) whichever is the larger.  Pension income does not count as earned income for this purpose.  ie if she literally didn't earn anything in the new tax year then her contribution is maxed at £3600 (until she is 75).  Is she earned say £4.5k gross before she left then that would be her limit.    

Trigger words for MPAA are UFPLS and Flexi Access - especially if taking more than 25% - I am pretty sure these do not apply for a 32.
    I think I saw you in an ice cream parlour
    Drinking milk shakes, cold and long