~ Riding the MFW train ~

Hi, I'm very new to this forum but have been binge reading the diary threads which inspire me an incredible amount. Ive recently deleted Instagram and replaced the icon with a link to the forum which has been a fruitful swap :blush:  

Ive just started overpaying our mortgage with intention and aim to have it paid off before im 40, in 8 years time, but ideally in 5 years, equating to 1k overpayment per month. 

So ill start my diary today and hope to become more involved in the community and accoutble to myself and you too, if theres anybody out there :wink: 

Were a family of 4, my partner is a primary school teacher and I am an NHS nurse. Our kids are 8 and 7 years old.  We've lived in our home for 7 years and have £82,915 left to pay.  Our home is a 3 bed terrace ex council house which we bought for 100k.  Were planning to extend but with the approximated costs coming in over 40k weve decided to pivot our mindset and love our smaller home <3 which has been a big refreshing change and given hope to being MF pre 40 which I find incredibly exciting.

We live pretty frugally mostly by living off my partners wage and using mine as a means to fix the house which was bought in a 'doer upper' condition...new boiler, windows, doors, kitchen, bathroom, loft blarding/insulating, driveway over the years have left little to pay off any extra, but time has come to change.  At the end of the month we're getting the house repointed which will mark the end of the 'big jobs'. 

The thing which will hold us back is that we can only overpay by 10% each year until we change our mortgage in March 2024.  But I suppose we could save in an additional account to pay in a lump sum once that is changed. 

Other money stuff: No other debt, 3k emergency fund floater saved, Christmas fund in the making using the reverse penny challenge currently at £210, £100 a month going into a stocks and shares isa for long term investing and we both have our workplace pensions.