• edited 24 November 2021 at 10:04PM
    lloyde92lloyde92 Forumite
    25 Posts
    Third Anniversary 10 Posts
    edited 24 November 2021 at 10:04PM
    Savvy_Sue said:
    Sandtree said:
    lloyde92 said:
    Theres also no info about holiday/sick policy and they require me to pay my own tax on my salary.

Then you arent going to be an employee
    THAT's the red flag. 
    Yep, a pretty big one.

My worry is them cancelling the work just before I begin, in which case I wouldn’t have a leg to stand on I imagine…
  • SandtreeSandtree Forumite
    7.7K Posts
    1,000 Posts Second Anniversary Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭
    lloyde92 said:
    Sandtree said:
    lloyde92 said:
    Theres also no info about holiday/sick policy and they require me to pay my own tax on my salary.

Yeah. It basically sounds like an ongoing contractor role (not quite what I thought). Will need to ask them a bunch of questions before I sign. Thanks for your input 
    As a long term contractor I personally don’t have an issue with not being an employee but monies have to reflect the lack of benefits and the risk. 

My day rate has always been about 1/100th of what I’d expect my salary to be. As long as I can keep in work most the year then it’s easy to earn way more than as a perm. 

The concern here is that it’s been done underhand by the sounds of it which would mean the monies are not marked up that much. 

A lot to talk about! 
  • TELLIT01TELLIT01 Forumite
    12.5K Posts
    10,000 Posts Seventh Anniversary Name Dropper PPI Party Pooper
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    I've never been self-employed, but hasn't HMRC tightened up on whether a person should be classed as s/e or an employee/worker?
  • JillanddyJillanddy Forumite
    642 Posts
    500 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭
    TELLIT01 said:
    I've never been self-employed, but hasn't HMRC tightened up on whether a person should be classed as s/e or an employee/worker?