Comments

• Sandtree
    Sandtree Posts: 10,628 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    lloyde92 said:
    Sandtree said:
    lloyde92 said:
    Theres also no info about holiday/sick policy and they require me to pay my own tax on my salary.

Then you arent going to be an employee
    Yeah. It basically sounds like an ongoing contractor role (not quite what I thought). Will need to ask them a bunch of questions before I sign. Thanks for your input 
    As a long term contractor I personally don’t have an issue with not being an employee but monies have to reflect the lack of benefits and the risk. 

My day rate has always been about 1/100th of what I’d expect my salary to be. As long as I can keep in work most the year then it’s easy to earn way more than as a perm. 

The concern here is that it’s been done underhand by the sounds of it which would mean the monies are not marked up that much. 

A lot to talk about! 
  • TELLIT01
    TELLIT01 Posts: 16,486 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper PPI Party Pooper
    Options
    I've never been self-employed, but hasn't HMRC tightened up on whether a person should be classed as s/e or an employee/worker?
  • Sandtree
    Sandtree Posts: 10,628 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    Options
    TELLIT01 said:
    I've never been self-employed, but hasn't HMRC tightened up on whether a person should be classed as s/e or an employee/worker?
    Not exactly, I assume you are talking about the changes to the IR35 legislation that came into effect this year for the private sector?