Breaking away from DMP

Options
Hello all! Might be a bit of a trivial one but here we go. I have been plodding along with my DMP with stepchange for a couple of years now and have narrowed 6 creditors down to 2 (although both are now PRA group).

A family member has offered to settle the debts for me, then I pay them back when I can, so that i can clean up my credit score and hopefully in the future get a mortgage. 

With the money that they potentially give me, am I better off giving it straight to Stepchange and letting them settle the accounts? Or just contact PRA group directly and settle with them? Both debts are enforceable and I hold my hands up to the amount I owe. It just seems a little silly to go through a middle man. 

Is there a best way to settle the accounts? As I'm sure I've seen clauses from Stepchange about not contacting creditors directly, so I am a little thrown 😅

Comments

• fatbelly
    fatbelly Posts: 20,499 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Cashback Cashier
    Options
    Best way is to do it yourself and try to do full & final settlements. Do it in  writing. Letter here
    PRA can be a little awkward but that is the same whether it is you or stepchange.
    You can genuinely say 'a third party has offered to make this payment'
  • StandSure
    Options
    fatbelly said:
    Best way is to do it yourself and try to do full & final settlements. Do it in  writing. Letter here
    PRA can be a little awkward but that is the same whether it is you or stepchange.
    You can genuinely say 'a third party has offered to make this payment'
    Thanks fatbelly!
    With an F&F, are they likely to always mark it as Partially Settled?
  • sourcrates
    sourcrates Posts: 28,878 Ambassador
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    Options
    Partially settled is the correct way to mark a debt that has not been paid in full, yes.