Student Pilot Finance Help !

Hello !
I'm a student pilot in Edinburgh working towards my PPL (privot pilots licence) Hoping to advance onwards to my CPL (Commercial Pilots Licence) 

As it stands I'd need to find a way to raise the funds or loan around 60k to complete my CPL. I work as a bus mechanic in Edinburgh getting a weekly wage and I'm not too bad at saving money ! 

Any help will be appreciated, we've looked at some options, part mortgaging the house since we own it but I'm not sure if there are cheaper options 

Hopefully this helps others in my position. 

Cheers !

Comments

• TadleyBaggie
    TadleyBaggie Posts: 6,055 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Second job?
  • Mickey666
    Mickey666 Posts: 2,834 Forumite
    Photogenic First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    An old friend is a commercial pilot, though she (yes, she) is about to retire this year.
    She passed her PPL in the UK and then went to USA to build up her hours because the rules for flying for reward were different than UK and she was able to fly solo mail/courier flights plus other stuff to build up her hours, basically for free.  She did this for a while and when she had enough hours and a bit more cash she returned to the UK.   She stayed with me while doing her IFR and it was great fun sitting the rear of a twin-otter with window blinds obscuring her view while I could clearly see how far off she was on her approach until she got the hang of it.  This was at Stansted in the early 80s, before it was a major airport but even so every practice approach cost her a significant amount of cash.   Couldn't afford it at Stansted today!