Civil Service Interview Preparation

I have a first interview booked for a surveyor role at the civil service and I am looking for some interview tips? I currently work in the private sector in a slightly different job role so I want to ensure that I am what they are looking for! Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks 

Comments

• lincroft1710
    lincroft1710 Posts: 17,623 Forumite
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Would this be with the VOA?
    If you are querying your Council Tax band would you please state whether you are in England, Scotland or Wales
  • kimwp
    kimwp Posts: 1,771 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic First Post Name Dropper
    You can ask them towards the end if there are any areas where you haven't yet talked about your relevant experience or even if there are any areas where they are concerned that you don't have enough experience/knowledge.
    Statement of Affairs (SOA) link: https://www.lemonfool.co.uk/financecalculators/soa.php

For free, non-judgemental debt advice, try: Stepchange or National Debtline. Beware fee charging companies with similar names.
  • avawat20
    avawat20 Posts: 159 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper
    STAR / CAR method for giving an example. Provide some theory and back it up with an example. Get any examples of taking learning from things and even better if you can then demonstrate how you applied that learning to another situation. 

Look at their competencies and try to use some of the language but don't shoe horn it in - it's so obvious.
  • Emmia
    Emmia Posts: 3,146 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Photogenic Name Dropper
    edited 22 January 2021 at 2:24AM
    Do you know if it is a strengths based interview?

Competencies are old hat,  these days it's "sucess profiles" 
    https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/success-profiles
  • Emmia
    edited 22 January 2021 at 2:37AM
    kimwp said: