Hi All! is it possible?

Options
Hello, Another newbie here:j
I have just bought my first house with my boyf.
We have a mortgage with Alliance & Leicester for 30yrs at a fixed rate of 5.39% untill June 2009.
I'd love to be able to pay off extra lump sums (i think we are allowed to pay off up to 10%) But we are just about living comfortably at the moment.
When you start up things like Gas and Electric can you change at any time or are you usually tied in for say 12 months?
We both put £600 of our wages into a joint account to pay for food and bills which just about covers things.
What is the best way of putting money away to pay off mortgage, an isa??
Any help appreciated
Kerry
x

Comments

• belfastgirl23
    Options
    I'd say first of all make sure you have an emergency fund for when the boiler breaks down or whatever. After that, if you have cash to spare then you should increase your normal monthly payment (direct debit) for your mortgage so that the money goes out before you see it. In the main it's better to pay the money straight off your mortgage rather than put it in an ISA unless you can find a really top rate one. This is a really useful guide from Martin http://www.moneysavingexpert.com/mortgages/mortgages-vs-savings.

I really applaud you for being so gung-ho in the first days of your mortgage but don't feel bad if you can't really make overpayments at the mo. We didn't manage to start making extra payments till very recently (2.5 years in).

And good luck in your new home :)
  • TSM_2
    TSM_2 Posts: 26 Forumite
    Options
    lfckerry wrote: »
    Hello, Another newbie here:j
    I have just bought my first house with my boyf.
    We have a mortgage with Alliance & Leicester for 30yrs at a fixed rate of 5.39% untill June 2009.
    I'd love to be able to pay off extra lump sums (i think we are allowed to pay off up to 10%) But we are just about living comfortably at the moment.